Skip to content
Recruiting now.Explore navy careers
Organisation / Units & Squadrons
HMS Dauntless (D33)
Organisation / Units & Squadrons

HMS Dauntless (D33)

HMS Dauntless is the second ship of the Daring Class. Together, the Royal Navy’s six Type 45 destroyers are among the most advanced warships ever constructed.

HMS Dauntless


Using the fearsome Sea Viper anti-air missile system, HMS Dauntless defends her fellow ships from enemy attack. She was the first of the Daring Class to fire the Sea Viper missile, which travels at over 18,000mph.

What really sets the Daring Class apart is its versatility. Outside of her air defence role, HMS Dauntless has the ability to carry out a huge range of war-fighting and constabulary duties, from counter-narcotics boarding operations, acting as a task group flagship or providing humanitarian aid and disaster relief.

Daring Class

Unit history

Join the Surface Fleet

Ready to go places? A career in the Surface Fleet could take you all over the world - on missions as varied as the oceans we defend.

Featured roles